top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRebecca Merrill

SPRING UNIFORM

I feel like it's only really been within the last year (if not less) that I've started to really settle into my personal style but this spring has probably been the most confident I've felt in what I've been wearing. I guess you'd probably associate spring with ditsy feminine florals (not brawny blazers and jeans) but I've felt like winter stubbornly kept it's grip on the UK. Regardless of the weather I feel like I would have persistently been drawn towards more masculine pieces anyway since I kept wearing cigarette trousers and blazers through any short glimpses of spring. Spring is now quickly fleeting but before it departs I wanted to share with you the outfit that I've probably reached for the most these past few (very cold) months.


WEEKDAY - LARA SWEATER

It wouldn't be an exaggeration for me to say that I've almost lived in this knit everyday since buying it at Christmas - okay, maybe a little exaggerated since I do also own it's camel sister but I think the message is the same; I love this knit. It's warm without being excessively bulky or heavy and I certainly don't feel swamped by it. It has a subtle ribbing detail around the shoulders and slightly ballooned sleeves that save this knit from being mistaken for a shapeless sack on my body.


PULL AND BEAR - HERRINGBONE BLAZER

I will be honest and say that I don't love this blazer despite how much I wear it, it just happens to be a convenient piece for me at the moment. It's pretty thin whereas I'd prefer to have a thicker woollen blazer, but I did pay next to nothing for this one so in no way did I expect something amazing. Sometimes I find it too be too long and lacking structure because the fabric is not thick or sturdy but I really enjoy the understated herringbone pattern which makes it a little less flat.


MONKI - TAIKI JEANS

These jeans were a lucky find in every sense. I happened to pop into a Monki store on a spontaneous trip to Bristol and found these sitting on a sale rack. They were the only pair there and it was actually my mum who encouraged me to try them on - and I have to say I'm very glad she did otherwise I probably would have left them there. These jeans fit me perfectly to the point that if I put on weight they wouldn't fit - but they're still comfortable so are wearable for a whole day.


Another lucky find - this time from TKMaxx. I never thought I'd actually find myself buying a pair of Geox shoes unless it was one of my parents breathing down my neck to buy them for some practical reason - can you tell I was traumatised by school shoe shopping? But these shoes have (temporarily) satisfied my lust for a pair of Church's brogues - which are far out of reach for my budget. These shoes do occasionally plague my feet with blisters if I wear them for too long without socks but if it wasn't for that I'd happily wear them all day long. The patent-style leather is subtle but does scuff very easily which is an absolute curse when you're someone who walks as cumbersome as I do.


TOPSHOP - CROC LEATHER TOTE

I have to admit that I think the tone of the tan croc faux leather of this bag is in Donald Trump fake-tan orange territory which makes it feel slightly garish at times. But it's bloody ginormous so I get a tonne of use out of it because I can chuck all my useless crap in it and still have room for any extras that I might pick up on my journeys.


98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page