top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRebecca Merrill

HINDSIGHT'S 20/20

The emergence of a new year is always a natural time for reflection and the dawn of a new decade has cranked the nostalgia up a notch or two. I'm sure most of us are strangers now to the people that we had embarked the 2010s as; even the world feels like an alien planet sometimes with the ferocious pace at which technology evolves and politics escalate.


Social media never fails to rise to any occasion, and for the ushering in of the new decade it provided none other than the 'ten-year challenge'. Somewhat hilarious (I use that term loosely) comparisons of yourself at the beginning of the decade and yourself now, at the other end. I am left with no doubt in my mind that puberty really does work wonders for people, as well as Snapchat filters and maybe a filler or two.


Seeing as my aversion to following the crowd hasn't gone anywhere since the last decade, I didn't bother rummaging around for the painfully bad photos of my ten-year-old self. I had no need to, especially when I can still vividly visualise the god-forsaken clothes and makeup that I used to adorn myself in.


So for my take on the 'ten-year challenge', I've thought about what the past decade has taught me about clothes and my own style:


JUST BECAUSE IT'S ON TREND, DOES NOT MEAN IT WILL SUIT YOU

We've all been there. Seen our favourite models and idols wearing some new trend, inevitably they look amazing and you think to yourself; 'do you know who else can pull off that new trend? I can'. So you pop off, down the high-street and into your nearest fast-fashion retailer (completely oblivious of the whole vulgarity behind it all) and of course, your new fashion-destiny is laid before you on the racks and the mannequins as you walk in. You fish out the piece that looks most like the one whatever it-girl you saw was wearing and head straight for the till. No need to try it on, obviously if it looked great on her then it's going to look great on you - no matter how questionable the trend. You're literally itching to wear your new, on-trend piece. You're desperate to be the first of your friends to get on it - you little fashionista. As soon as the first opportunity arises you jump on the chance to wear it, who cares if nothing else you own goes with it - you're. on. trend.

What you don't realise is, blinded by your smugness of being the trend-setter, is that you don't have the same body or even aesthetic as the it-girl you saw it on. Pictures of you proudly wearing that daft crop top with the words "GEEK" or "DWEEB" printed across the front or even that far too small American Apparel skirt (you know the one) will come back to haunt you once that magic wears off, and you'll wonder how anyone let you out the house.


MUM DOESN'T ALWAYS KNOW BEST (BUT DO LISTEN OCCASIONALLY)

My mum has been telling me for years that apparently layers are on-trend. But I'm pretty sure that the leggings, several long tops and waterfall cardigan look haven't been resurrected since the early 00s. Not only that but her confusion and "I don't get it" approach to anything oversized is why I've learnt to stop asking her for advice on what to wear. She also really did me dirty as a kid, telling me I looked cool wearing a Cabrini tracksuit and she also let me run around wearing a neon pink fluffy snood.

But what I have learnt, despite our differences in sartorial style, is that my mum definitely does know what's best when it comes to practicality. After too many times of wearing blister-inducing shoes for a day out or a jacket that is far too thin for the midsts of winter or jeans to the airport, I've finally realised that when my mother tells me to put something more comfortable on - that she's right. And to top off how cold, sore or uncomfortable you are - nothing will sting more than that look of 'I told you so' slathered across her face.


UNEVEN EYEBROWS LOOK BETTER THAN OVERDRAWN ONES

For most of my childhood, I have been plagued by the asymmetry in my face. So when I discovered the treasure trove that is make-up, I went to town on trying to fix my face. I'm so ashamed to admit that I was only seventeen when it hit me that my eyebrows looked awful - as in slug-imitating awful. Not only did I massacre my natural brows, but also failed miserably at winged eyeliner. My attempts at eyeliner were about as far away from being feline as is an elephant.

In my old-age wisdom, I've now realised that an overdrawn set of brows and botched eyeliner ruins more photos that a bit of asymmetry ever did.


SECOND-HAND SHOPPING IS A TREASURE TROVE

I was brought up trailing around behind my grandma going from one charity shop to another. No doubt that at the time I also thought they were treasure troves for toys and other niknaks, but as with everything you love as a child it immediately becomes uncool once you reach secondary school. It was only at the later end of the last decade that my love for finding buried treasure amongst another person's junk returned. I have found so many unique pieces in charity shops, from big brands to some that I've not heard of since. Either way, it fuels my love of being different and helps the planet.


54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page