top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRebecca Merrill

PASTELS NOT CRAYONS

Updated: May 21, 2019

I've just made the fatal mistake of having a "quick glimpse" (it never is a quick glimpse though is it) through the new season section of Net-A-Porter. Now, obviously Net-A-Porter isn't somewhere I ever shop from - well maybe in my imagination, yes - sadly it's just not within my price range. But I love wallowing in the droves of gorgeous designs from all these luxury brands to find inspiration for the seasons ahead.


After writing this I realised that each piece I mentioned all shared something in common - each is a hue of pastel. I'm not surprised since pastels are one of the big spring/summer trends this year but I never thought I'd be someone that was drawn to it - clearly I was wrong.



Linen is perfect for hot summer days, but sometimes despite all it's practicality I get bored of seeing that organic, flowing material everywhere because I feel like it makes me blend in with the background. Looking at this shirt I would never have guessed it was linen (which I love). The toile theme in that gorgeous shade of sage is timeless but unique - in an odd way I feel like it feminises the masculine cut of the shirt.








I love both satin and lace so when I was scrolling through the new season I was immediately drawn to this camisole. I prefer that this piece deviates slightly from the typical flimsy nature of a camisole - the abundance of lace offers security without losing any of the seduction factor.

But on closer inspection I really don't think the zips agree with me. Personally I think they look like they should be functional because they're so plain, but the positioning makes them almost redundant.








I'm sure that your instagram feed is also saturated with pearl hair accessories - so when I came across these cowrie shell hair slides I was delighted. There is nothing more frustrating than hair sticking to your sweaty forehead when trying to revel in hot weather - so I can imagine these hair slides being the perfect weapon to combat hot weather hair woes. Cowrie shells are rooted deep in the history of many cultures - particularly West African culture so I've linked an incredibly interesting article that I found on the history of cowrie shell.







I have been desperate for the perfect satin midi skirt for the longest time, so of course I was going to come across one that was out of my price range. As if this ecru skirt hadn't left me slightly drooling, Net-A-Porter also stocks it's blue and pink sisters. Half the battle with midi skirts is finding a skirt that is flattering and compliments your silhouette in the right ways. If you watch the product video of the skirt you will be almost mesmerised (or maybe I'm just slightly too obsessed with these things) by the way the fabric moves on the model.












disclaimer: all opinions expressed are my own and are not in affiliation or partnership with any of the companies aforementioned. The images used are not mine and were sourced from their respective links found in the text associated with each image.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page