top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRebecca Merrill

APRIL SHOWERS

Rain. Nothing quite demotivates me like opening the curtains in the morning to witness a judgement day style downpour outside. My hair rebells instantly to moisture and my skin crawls at the thought of being cold and wet so staying dry without feeling too aware of how I might look is so important to me.


When an umbrella from the corner shop won't cut it - or you can't bear to wear a Trespass raincoat - here are some alternatives:


My main gripe with dressing for a deluge is

how hard it is to feel elegant in a rain mac. Worse still is finding a waterproof coat that doesn't look like it belongs in a school cloakroom and finding it doesn't have a hood. No matter how much I try to convince myself I can compensate with an umbrella, it's almost inevitable that whenever it rains I'll be faced with gales that render my umbrella useless and my hair a mess. This utilitarian coat answered my prayers. The hood is removable and innocuous enough that it doesn't compromise on practicality nor does it subtract from it's sophistication as a trench. Uniqlo serves up this miracle in 3 traditional trench colours - one for each month of spring?




With all this unpredictable weather, whatever connotations of 'spring' we once had have lost any meaning (as I'm writing this it's hailing outside and snowing up North). The breathability of this warmer coat (and the unaccountability of our weather) means this understated style won't just be exclusive to bleak midwinter days. The juxtaposition of the earthy grey a-line body and vibrant fur hood remain true to the traditional Barbour vibe.






HUNTER - ORIGINAL SMOCK


This frosted matte smock keeps the harsh festival rain mac look at arms length and works as a chic, contemporary veil for whatever you may have on beneath. I like it because I imagine it to be a sort of exclusive hidden preview of your outfit - keep everyone guessing on what you're wearing whilst staying dry.









Don't want to migrate from your bed in the morning? Solution: take your duvet with you.

I love puffer jackets because they're so cozy which makes them essential gloomy day armour. This photo doesn't do the gorgeous cut of the coat when it's fastened justice. It creates a sleeker, more feminine frame compared to most puffers.





RAINS - BACKPACK

What's more unsightly; those hazardous orange bin liners you used on that mountain expedition or a waterlogged handbag? This bag lets you save your possessions from death by drowning without inducing PTSD from your last camping trip. Rains is well known for bringing colour and sleekness to waterproofs (how could you not live up to a name so blunt?) - so this bag is practical yet pretty.




TED BAKER - FLOODZ UMBRELLA


I love that the gorgeous paisley pattern is on the inside of this umbrella - almost your own personal distraction from the awful weather you're powering through. A good quality umbrella is essential for withstanding wind and contracting to a handbag-friendly size.



For a smaller, more compact umbrella that retains a chic wooden handle try the boy umbrella found on amazon.






disclaimer: all opinions expressed are my own and are not in affiliation or partnership with any of the companies aforementioned. The images used are not mine and were sourced from their respective links found in the text associated with each image.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page